Trifecta Cookies

I love oats in my baking – muffins, cookies, bars, you name it. Despite that, I don’t like oatmeal…but that’s a whole other story. I was craving peanut butter (I’ve learned to accept I’m always craving peanut butter) and chocolate, so it was only logical that I combined these into a cookie. I remembered seeing this recipe a while back, and I was so excited I finally got to try it out! I increased the oats by 1/4 cup because I love them so much and it was perfect for me. However, I felt the cookies were too oily – probably because of the peanut butter – so next time I would decrease that and maybe add a bit more butter to compensate.

These were fantastic straight out of the oven, or served the next day with some milk. Mine personally got a bit stale after 2-3 days, so eat these quick! Recipe under the cut.


Trifecta Cookies
aka Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip cookies!
adapted from Lovin the Oven

1 c all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 c oats
1/2 c (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 c creamy peanut butter *(maybe reduce this to 1/4 or 3/8 cup?)
1/2 c granulated sugar
1/3 c light brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
3/4 c semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Whisk together the dry ingredients – flour, baking soda, salt, and oats. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, using a stand mixer or by hand, cream together the butter and sugars. Add the egg and beat well. Add the vanilla extract.

Gradually add in the flour mixture until they are well combined.

*Refrigerate the dough overnight or up to 24 hours (I skipped this step to save time)*

Roll the dough into 1.5 inch balls. Place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until they are golden brown.

Let cool (or eat hot out of the oven if you’re impatient like me!), then enjoy with a glass of cold milk or use two to make an ice cream sandwich. 🙂

Leave a Reply

