Snickerdoodles

“Cinnamon sugar goodness” is only the start of how I would describe these cookies. I’ve been craving cinnamon + sugar for weeks before I finally found the time to make something to appease my sweet tooth. Many of the snickerdoodles I’ve had in my life are thin, crispy, and crunchy. I never understood the appeal of crunchy cookies. I’d rather have a chewy cookie that explodes with flavor before practically melting on your tongue. Thankfully, these cookies definitely weren’t a stereotypical snickerdoodle (at least, what “stereotypical” has been in my experiences). They were chewy, soft, thick, and fat little pillows of buttery cinnamony sugary goodness.

Mine turned out smaller than expected, but I think that’s because I refrigerated the dough for a few hours instead of half an hour, as called for in the recipe, so the cookies didn’t spread out so much on the cookie sheet from the balls I formed. At least longer refrigeration didn’t have any effect on the flavor! My friends and I made short work of these cookies but I think I still have a few more left in my kitchen. These are great on their own with a glass of cold milk, but I liked them even more with some ice cream (your favorite flavor, or any flavor really) sandwiched in between two of them!

Snickerdoodles
adapted from How Sweet Eats

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 tablespoons milk
1/4 cup sugar + 1 tablespoon cinnamon for dipping

Cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until smooth. Add egg and vanilla, mixing well until combined, about 2 minutes.

Stir in flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Mix until the dough comes together. Add in the milk a tablespoon at a time. Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes, and preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

In a bowl combine remaining sugar and cinnamon. After 30 minutes, remove dough from fridge and roll into big 1 1/2 inch balls. Coat the balls in the cinnamon sugar mixture and place on baking sheet. Lightly press down on dough to flatten it. Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes.


My attempted tower of snickerdoodles. As you can see, it didn’t go very tall – only six!

Leave a Reply

