The Sara

The Sara is a blondie base with a strong peanut butter component, nutella swirls, chocolate chips, marshmallows, and a hint of cinnamon. It’s named after my good friend Sara, who is one of the most enthusiastic supporters of my baking (I can always count on her to taste batter, dough, frosting – anything!) and who loves all the above-mentioned ingredients. Therefore, it was only fitting that I name something full of everything she loves after her!

These blondies had a strong peanut butter flavor, and were practically melt-in-your-mouth. Delicious! Sara’s in Los Angeles for the summer, so I mailed her some – fingers crossed she loves these as much as I did! Recipe under the cut.

The Sara
adapted from Kevin and Amanda‘s blondies base recipe

1/2 c (1 stick) butter
1/2 c peanut butter
1 1/4 c light brown sugar
1/4 c granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 c all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 – 1/2 tsp cinnamon (depends on how much you like the cinnamon flavor! this could even be omitted if you’re not as much of a fan of cinnamon as I am)
nutella*
chocolate chips*
marshmallows*

* – the asterisks indicate the amount of this you add is completely arbitrary and up to you! For nutella, I added maybe six spoonfuls/dollops and swirled it in. Maybe a handful and a half (or more?) or chocolate chips. A handful or so or mini marshmallows too! Don’t worry about measurements here; go crazy!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 8×8 baking dish.

Melt the butter in a saucepan over medium heat (or…microwave it like I do. It saves time if you’re impatient like I am!), then add the sugars and cream them together.

Add the eggs, one a at a time, thoroughly mixing them in. Add the vanilla.

Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl. Add to the wet mixture and mix well.

Transfer the (thick!) mixture into the baking pan. At this point, drop spoonfuls of nutella on the surface and swirl in using a knife. Then scatter the chocolate chips on top of that and lightly press into the surface.

Bake at 350 degrees for 22-25 minutes or until the top is golden brown and a toothpick (or fork) inserted into the center comes out clean.

Immediately after taking these out of the oven, press the marshmallows into the surface while it’s still hot!

Allow to cool, then slice up and enjoy!

***my oven is famous for being finicky, and when I was making these it decided to be an all out bitch. 350 on the dial apparently didn’t translate to 350 inside the oven (I don’t know when these problems started happening) so after 22 minutes I was horrified to see the top was turning that brown/black shade that indicates it’s been overcooked yet the inside was way too gooey and liquidy. I tried to do what I could to salvage these but ultimately the edges ended up burnt and the middle slightly undercooked 😦 They tasted delicious though, which is why I soldiered on to take pictures and post this recipe. But you can tell in the pictures the ugly dark color of the edge pieces (which I tried to hide) and the too-gooey looking insides of the middle pieces. Sigh. I’ll just have to make these again in a properly functioning oven and update these pictures next time!

Leave a Reply

