S’mores Cookies!

Ahhh, s’mores. The slightly sweet, crunchy graham cracker pieces enclosing warm, fluffy marshmallows and silky-smooth melted chocolate. Memories of summer, winter, and – okay, I’ll admit it, s’mores are kind of perfect anytime. My good friend posted the recipe for s’mores stuffed chocolate chip cookies by Picky Palate on my facebook wall, and it suddenly hit me how much I wanted s’mores, right now.

I wasn’t feeling the whole s’mores in cookies thing (they turn out so huge!) so I remembered a s’mores cookies post by Kim over at Lovin the Oven that had s’mores components in a chocolate chip cookie dough and after a trip to the store to get s’mores ingredients, I whipped up these delicious cookies!

In one word, these cookies were gooey. They were chewy, soft, sweet, and tasted absolutely amazing! I took a basic chocolate chip cookie dough and threw in crumbled up graham cracker pieces, Hershey bars, and mini marshmallows. Here’s a rough picture of the dough in my stand mixer:

I realized after I already mixed up my dough that it would have been better to bake the cookies, then press the marshmallows and chocolate into the cookies after they were done baking, like Lovin the Oven suggested. The marshmallows in my cookies melted onto the pan and caramelized, making them a little hard to get off the cookie sheet after they were done baking. Next time I make these, I’ll definitely be making this change. I was also slightly disappointed that I couldn’t really taste the graham crackers – I guess they blended in too easily with the cookie dough. I’ll have to think about how to increase the graham cracker taste next time I make these. Other than the slight burnt sugar taste from the over-caramelized marshmallows (easily missed, trust me), these were so good!

S’mores Cookies
adapted from Picky Palate and Lovin the Oven

2 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 c (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 c granulated (white) sugar
3/4 c brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 1/2 c mini marshmallows*
1 c Hershey bars (split up into mini bars)*
1 1/2 c graham cracker squares, crumbled up*

* – definitely take liberties with the amount of s’mores ingredients you include! The amounts I include in this recipe are very rough estimates of what I used; I didn’t really measure it out.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Cream the softened butter and sugars together. Add the eggs and vanilla extract. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, and baking soda. Add the flour mixture into the wet mixture in increments, forming the base dough. Add in the graham cracker pieces.

Spray a cookie sheet with cooking spray. Drop the cookie dough onto the sheet by rounded tablespoons. Bake at 375 degrees for eight minutes, until the edges are golden brown.

Remove from the oven and immediately press in the mini marshmallows and chocolate bars onto the hot cookie. Allow cookies to sit on the cookie sheet for a few minutes, before removing to a cooling rack to allow the cookies to cool completely.

PS: Also if you noticed, I did take pictures of these cookies under two different lighting settings. The slightly red-tinted pictures of cookies were taken at night, right after I made them, under kitchen lighting. The cookies by the window sill were taken today, with some nice sunlight!

Leave a Reply

